Misogyny and sexual assault par for the course in Stratford, East London

Recent reviews on living in Stratford suggest that it’s a centre for misogyny and sexual harassment of women walking alone in public.

One commentator, who lived in Stratford, said, “The street harassment in that area for a young woman on her own was absolutely ridiculous. I was frequently cat called, followed home, and harassed just for being outside. It didn’t matter what I wore, what time of day it was, what I was doing, it was just nearly every single time. I was sexually assaulted just a 5 min walk away from Stratford station / Westfield too. I lived there for 12 months and left as soon as possible because I couldn’t handle not feeling safe where I lived… The cat calling wasn’t all just ‘Oi oi darlin’ either, it was some really dirty, sexual stuff that made me feel awful. I used to end up in tears by the time I got home sometimes.

Another commentator reminisced, ” Sadly, similar issues faced my missus when we lived between Stratford and Leyton. Worst was a gang of youths saying something really lewd and threatening, without realising I was behind her. Dread to think what would’ve happened if I wasn’t there to scare them off.”

As for the police, they seemed to accept the misogyny, “After being assaulted the police told me that when I go out I should cover up my hair because ‘Not many girls around here look like you’ – that was the solution to the problem of me being assaulted. … I was so upset at the time I didn’t even question it, I just nodded and agreed.

Mind you some commentators have lived a relatively stress-free life. One said, “We’ve been living in Stratford for about a year and a half and haven’t had any problems.” Some have really enjoyed living next to the newly developed Queen Elizabeth Olympic Park. One commented, “Living next to the QEOP is amazing with some great events and is really beautiful to walk around and find a nice spot to sit and have a picnic or relax.”

References on misogynistic London

Misogyny and sexual assault par for the course in Stratford, East London

Will all the hecklers please just fuck off

I’d take a punch again from this loser or any other loser who thinks it’s OK to treat women like this

Keep calm and do nothing?  Yeh, right!

Banaz, a London love story

Essexual harassment in the aftermath of the 2014 London marathon

Leave a Reply

