I saw a young man sobbing on the train today, I didn’t do anything

Today a young man got on a northern line train at around about Angel.

I first noticed him when he had already sat down, and principally because he was sobbing into his hands, with his bag on his lap.

As more people got on the train, one woman noticing him crying made a special effort not to sit next to him.

Others sat next to him.

The lady who had made a special effort not to sit next to him, once seated three seats away, glanced sideways to see if he ws still crying. He was.

I didn’t say anything to him, I got off at Bank.

I wanted to ask him if he was alright, to console him, to talk to him, to make sure he wasn’t going to do anything rash or hasty.

But I didn’t.

I was sat too far away from him.

There were too many people on the train.

The train was too noisy.

He was too upset.

He had his head in his hands.

I thought that whatever I might do would cause everyone in the carriage to stare, which would put the man off opening up to me.

I wasn’t sure that whatever I might say or do would help.

Leave a Reply

